Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

About This Blog

Since this blog is mainly about my family, let me introduce myself and my family…

Anniversary (2)

I am Kristy, a 52-year-old mainly stay-at-home, Christian wife and mother who is loving life. I was educated and worked as a school speech-language pathologist for nearly 20 years. I retired from that field after God called me to homeschool our boys for 7 years. I’m now retired from *that* and working as a part-time bookkeeper and  managing our home and family. Carl and I also videotape dance recitals for a number of dance studios each May and June. (We used to also videotape weddings, funerals and other events but that business has died down over the past years.) I like to play on the computer, blog, craft, read and watch HGTV.

I have been married to my dear 53 year-old husband, Carl, for 31 years and he is my best-friend, a devoted husband and involved father. After obtaining his dream of working for the Minnesota Vikings for 15 years in the Finance Department, he was recently “traded” to the Jacksonville Jaguars.  His hobby is home maintenance and improvement projects.

Friday (10)

This is my eldest, Kelly. She came to us by birth. She is 26 years old and living in Minneapolis, MN.  She received her Bachelor’s degree from the University of Minnesota in 2011 and then worked as an AuPair in the Netherlands for one year and Beijing, China for 6 months. She is now attending graduate school to obtain her Master’s in Clinical Psychology.

Anthony 228

This is Anthony. He came to us through a domestic adoption. He has been with us since he was 3 days old. He is currently 20-years-old and a sophomore at Grand Canyon University in Phoenix, AZ. He spent some years lost and struggling but after submitting his life to Jesus Christ, he is a new creation who loves the Lord. He loves adventure and spends his free time rock climbing, surfing, slack-lining, snowboarding and hanging out with friends. After spending his past summer living and working at a summer camp in Hawaii, he dreams of moving there after graduation.

Zack

This is Zack. He came to us through international adoption. He was born in Perm, Russia. He has been with us since he was 9 months old. He is 18 years old and a senior at a small, Christian high school. He works at Lowe’s for 30 hours each week and spends the rest of his free time playing Xbox. Zack will most likely be attending trade school when he graduates high school.

Finally, here is our little furball, Harry Dog, who we finally said goodbye to in January, 2017 after almost 17 years together. He was a good dog who is greatly missed.

After living in Minnesota for 15 years and raising our kids there, we endured a particularly brutal winter in Minnesota in 2013/14 and asked ourselves, “why are we living here?” Our daughter was already living on our own, our older son was soon to graduate high school and go off to college and our youngest only had a few more years until his booting from the nest. We pondered our future and began to make plans to relocate to the warmer climate of Tucson, Arizona. However, God had other plans for us and we are now happily living in Jacksonville, Florida.

Thanks for stopping by my blog and come back again soon!

Advertisements

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s