Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

Kick Off

on August 21, 2017

Can it be football season already? It’s hard to imagine when it’s still 90 degrees out with 85% humidity in Florida. But yes, it really is that time. Since it was only preseason and since it was the JAX Jaguars, Carl was able to get an unlimited number of tickets to the season opener game at Everbank Field last Thursday night. He offered tickets to our entire church and over 135 tickets were claimed (this is only some of the crew)!

IMG_7094

One of the diehard Jaguar fans, Nathan, who has his own season tickets, organized tailgating in one of the parking lots beforehand. He did a terrific job with a tent, two propane grills, music and games set up for the kids.

I had really debated going myself since:

  1. It’s football.
  2. It’s soooo hot.

But I couldn’t pass up the fun social occasion with our church family. And when Anthony (who is home from Hawaii for one week) said that he would come too, that clinched the deal.

IMG_7084

I can honestly say that I don’t think I watched the game at all. I spent most of my time socializing with friends or looking for my photos to appear on the Giant Screens.

IMG_7086

If you post photos to Instagram using the hashtag #jagsgamedaylive, you can eventually see your photo appear on the screens, rotating through a few times. These are some of the other photos I posted to Instagram…

IMG_7087

Our friends, Michelle and John, who we rode with to the game and Ben, another young friend.

IMG_7090

Our friends, Dee and Eddy, with Carl stopping by to say hi.

From what I hear, the Jaguars really looked bad and it’s going to be a long and painful season. This pretty much sums up what I feel about watching football…

IMG_7093

It was a fun evening hanging out with friends. I am grateful to Carl and Nathan for helping to put together a great evening of fellowship! Next time, let’s do it somewhere inside with air conditioning!!

 

2 responses to “Kick Off

  1. Mom says:

    Quite an impressive tailgate party!! Would you rather have been at the game with snow and wind? Anthony looks thrilled to be watching football!!

    Like

  2. grandpa JOHN says:

    nice

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

