Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

Have a Seat….

on August 8, 2017

When we moved to Jacksonville almost three years ago, we left behind our 15 year old family room couches and Carl’s beloved recliner since they were worn and not in the style that I was going for in Florida. I found a nice imitation leather sectional and new accent chair for the family room and I painted/restained our old tables for that room.

IMG_7047

Since Carl gave up his recliner, I let him have the use of the corner lounger section on the right side in the following photo.

IMG_7048

That left me with the section on the left. So for TV viewing, I had to sit with my feel resting on a cushion on the coffee table (you can see the cushion peeking out from under the table) or lying on my side.

IMG_7050

It was functional but not overly comfortable, especially for me. So a few months ago, when I noticed that the material covering the couches was starting to disintegrate, I started dreaming of a replacing this crappy set with something that was more comfortable and durable.

Here is the worst section on the back of the sectional….

IMG_7039

And here is what the entire seat cushions look like across the sectional….

IMG_7043

I returned to the store where I bought it, just because it is the closest furniture store to our house. When I told the saleswoman my sad story of needing to replace crappy furniture just under three years old, she said “let me pull up your account.” After looking at it, she said “oh, you paid for the 3-year protection plan.” We NEVER pay for the protection plan so I was surprised. Yay, me for thinking ahead to this very moment! I was even more surprised when she said “we had a lot of complaints about that set. We don’t work with that manufacturer or carry any imitation leather products anymore. Since you paid for the protection plan and it is under the 3-year warranty (just barely), we will give you a store credit for 100% of what you paid for that crappy furniture.” Okay, maybe she didn’t say it exactly like that but you get the point.

SAY WHAT?! Thank you Lord! I just love those cool little blessings when you least expect them. I was prepared to fork over the full amount for replacement furniture and here we are getting all of our money back after using the furniture for 3 years because Kristy-of-3-years ago made a great financial move in paying the extra $100 for 3-year protection. The new furniture arrives later this week so stay tuned for new photos :).

 

 

 

5 responses to “Have a Seat….

  1. Les says:

    Awesome!!!!!

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    Are you sure you didn’t pay for the 3 year protection plan? Why would it be on their records? Did you tell her you didn’t pay for the protection plan? Can’t wait to see the new furniture!!!!!

    Like

  3. grandpa JOHN says:

    nice

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

