Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

My Maid of Honor

on August 7, 2017

Back in 1982, at the University of Illinois, in my former life, I was studying to be a Speech-Language Pathologist. One of the first friends that I made in the program was Jean. Being a small program with everyone required to take many of the same classes, Jean and I had many classes together for our four years of undergraduate work.

Jean (1)

Jean and I and another friend who neither of us can remember her name (but Carl thinks it’s Pam)

After living in the dorms for my first three years of college, I finally moved into an apartment with Jean and another of her friends, Clair, my last year of college. Since I met Carl my first month of college and we were always together, Jean was very familiar with my future-husband. Jean and Clair drove up to Chicago for my wedding shower thrown by my mother and step-mother.

Jean (4)

Jean even was the maid of honor in our wedding.

Jean (6)

I’m not sure what Jean thinks but I still love my lavender bridesmaid dresses!

Jean (2)

Carl and I visited Jean and her family through the years. The first time was our first homecoming at the University of Illinois in 1987, during my androgynous phase, where I was sporting an incredibly horrific boy’s haircut and wearing a men’s polo shirt. Jean was as cute as ever though!

Jean

This time was in Chicago when Jean was married and mother to her first child, Calvin and we had just brought Anthony home.

Jean (5)

I also visited her twice when we lived in Virginia and Jean and her family lived in Pennsylvania.

Jean (3)

However, most of our married lives, we’ve been separated by busy lives and many, many miles, usually living in different states from one another. So I was thrilled when Jean contacted me recently to say that she’d be in Jacksonville visiting her sister, who coincidentally lives about 3 miles from me, and would love to get together.

Jean and her daughters, Anna and Sarah, came for dinner on Sunday night and it was so good to catch up with her after 19 years.

I am so thankful for time spent reconnecting with a long-lost friend! Thanks for visiting Jean and girls!

3 responses to “My Maid of Honor

  1. grandpa JOHN says:

    nice

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    I have to say although you were both cute when young you both look great today!! Life long friendships are great blessings, how wonderful you have remained friends for so long.

    Like

  3. Sue Miklas says:

    What a great way to spend a Sunday. A friend doesn’t have to say hello or goodbye since I’m pretty sure when you got together, it was as though you never missed a beat. Friendship is one of the sweetest joys of life. You both look fantastic ( that includes her daughters) & the guy in the photo, is not bad either. Hope she visits her sister often!

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

