Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

I’m Ready for Some Grandkids!

on July 25, 2017

On Friday morning, while drinking my tea and perusing Facebook, I came across this cry for help.

FB

With nothing on my schedule except for cleaning my own house, which I’d gladly skip, I texted my friend, Allie and told her she could bring her kids to my house for the day for some swimming so she could get the house cleaned in preparation for their relocation to Tennessee. A little while later, she dropped off a carload of her 5 youngest children – aged 2 to 10 years (she has two others as well…one who was working and one who stayed to help her clean).

IMG_7017

IMG_7019

After a few hours in the pool, the kids had worked up an appetite and were ready for some lunch so we ate some pizza on the porch.

IMG_7018

A little while later, the Popsicles came out.

IMG_7020

Finally, the kids had enough pool time so we went inside to watch a movie and eat popcorn.

IMG_7022

Little Wesley was out like a light within a few minutes.

IMG_7024

After the movie, we played a few rounds of Whoonu.

IMG_7025

Finally, after about 6 hours, mom returned for the kiddos. If it took her 6 hours without the kids, I can’t imagine how long it would have taken her with 5 extra little ones running around. I was so glad to have been able to help and had a fun day hanging out with some sweet kids.IMG_7026However, I will admit that after they left, I made myself a cocktail and spent some time enjoying the peace and quiet in the pool with my husband, who was home from work by that time. It’s great to be able to spend a fun day with some kids and then send them home. Ha! Just like being a grandparent.

 

We are really sad to be losing a lovely church family to Tennessee but look forward to having a chance to visit them in the Nashville area after they are settled.

3 responses to “I’m Ready for Some Grandkids!

  1. Aunt sandra says:

    You are definitely an angel beyond the call of duty

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    That is one of the perks of being a grandparent, they eventually go home. You are indeed a good friend to take 5 kids and keep them entertained, I know the mother appreciated your kindness. You have talked about this family and how wonderful they are, including the oldest son who is now a manny to your boss’s grandson. They are indeed blessed!!!

    Like

  3. grandpa JOHN says:

    nice

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

