Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

Architectural Boat Tour

on July 12, 2017

On Wednesday, Carl and I took the Metra train downtown to take an architectural boat tour. After I did that last fall with my aunt Sandra, I thought Carl might enjoy it so we used the anniversary gift of money from my mom to buy ourselves tickets.


After getting off the train, we were going to walk a few blocks and then take an Uber to Navy Pier. However, it was a beautiful day and we had time to kill so we ended up walking the whole three miles to Navy Pier. Since this tour originated from Navy Pier, it included a speed boat ride up and down the coast, showing the skyline.


After cruising the coast, we went through the locks to enter the Chicago River. Then we learned about the many of the high-rises along the river. Since this tour included the speed boat ride, we didn’t go as far down the river as the tour with my Aunt Sandy, but it was still very interesting. It was a great anniversary present. Thanks mom!

After the boat tour, we walked down Michigan avenue and around the city.


We had really hoped to win tickets to see Hamilton on that day but it was not to be. Super sad face.


I discovered the soundtrack to Hamilton on Amazon Prime a few months ago and have been obsessively listening to it at least once a week (sometimes more) since then. I was so excited to find out that it was playing in Chicago. Until I found out tickets were running from around $300 on up each. Since we could go on a weekend cruise for $500, we just couldn’t pay that much for tickets. However, I found out that they have a lottery for 44 tickets for $10 each every show. So Carl and I had 7 opportunities while we were in town. But with an average of 10,000 people entering every lottery, we didn’t win. Darn it. The show is coming to Orlando in 2018 though so we WILL be going. In the meantime, I’ll listen to the soundtrack another 150 times.

It was a fun day exploring a beautiful city on an equally beautiful day.

2 responses to “Architectural Boat Tour

  1. Sue Miklas says:

    Great Anniversary gift….it is a beautiful city and a wonderful way to see the downtown area. Start saving “your pennies” for Hamilton in Orlando! Something to look forward to in 2018!

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    I have to admit Chicago is a beautiful city with it skylines, but I hate the hustle and bustle of the city. I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary present but sorry you didn’t get to see Hamilton. Maybe the prices will drop once it gets to Orlando.

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

