Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

Mother’s Day 2017

on May 15, 2017

Also known as the day Kristy decides everything that we do :).

So after church and lunch on Sunday, I decided that Carl and I would drive up to Talbot Islands State Park, where I went with my mom and Sis a few weeks ago, so I could show Carl the Driftwood Beach. Since we were driving about 45-minutes, I figured we would stop and take a nice walk in the area first and read online about a 4-mile loop trail just down the road.

After parking our car in the North Beach Pavilion area, the first thing we encountered was this guy cruising in the parking lot.

IMG_6548

Hi Mr. Turtle! We saw another one along our walk as well.

This was the path that we were supposed to take…starting from the pink star, head a short way over to the beach, walk north up the beach and then loop back through some woods.

IMG_6556

Instead, we were confused and starting walking south along the paved pathway, walking two miles in the wrong direction and ending at the southern end of the island, past the South Beach Pavilion Area. We enjoyed a nice, long walk back north along the beach.

IMG_6549

When we got to the northern part of the island, we were supposed to veer left into the woods on a marked trail. However, with the trailhead hidden behind coastal debris, we walked right past it and ended up at the very northern tip of the island instead. After back-tracking and keeping our eyes peeled for the trail, we finally found the entrance.

IMG_6552

Hidden down the path a bit was the sign that was supposed to direct us.

IMG_6550

Eventually, we made it back to our car. Instead of the 4-mile loop we were supposed to take above, we actually took a 7.7 mile journey with our various mis-steps!

IMG_6557

IMG_6554

By that point we were too tired, hot and sweaty to even go see the Driftwood beach, especially since it would have involved another one-mile walk in and one-mile walk out. We decided that we would have to go back another day.

Instead, we headed back towards home and to Chipotle for dinner.

IMG_6553

We had initially planned to go to a nicer restaurant but that would have required going home to shower and change clothes and we just wanted some food and then to crash on the couch by that point.

Thanks to Kelly for the lovely hand-made card waiting for me at home. My husband had brought me the flowers the day before. So sweet!

IMG_6555

Zack also bought me a Hallmark card from the grocery store and paid an outrageous $8!!! I told him next year that he could buy me a card from the Dollar Store and give me the extra $7. Ha! It was a nice thought though Zack. And IT WAS a Hallmark, so there was that.

It was a lovely day spent with my husband and enjoying the gorgeous day. I am grateful for my family.

6 responses to “Mother’s Day 2017

  1. Mom says:

    7 Miles?? I thought the one mile walk to the drift woods was long!!! It is a good thing you are both young and have good knees!!! Since you both like hiking it had to be a fun day for you. Sorry Carl didn’t get to see the drift woods but another time. Kelly card is cute and Zack is a big spender like his uncle Rob who also buys expensive cards. Listen to your mom next time Zack, the dollar store has really cute cards. Glad you enjoyed your Mother’s Day, now rest up the two grandmas will be there soon!!!

    Like

  2. Grammy says:

    Loved reading about your adventure and seeing the map of the area. Your Chipotle meal looks amazing. Ian and I will have to go there soon.

    Like

    • Kristy says:

      We love Chipotle. Pictured is the Salad Bowl. We get no rice and just a little black beans. If you aren’t low-carb, then I LOVE the Burrito bowl with rice and beans as the base instead of lettuce :).

      Like

  3. granpa JOHN says:

    nice, KRISTY- you are a good -mother-daughter-wife- and friend

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aunt Gale says:

    Zack loves you a lot. Nice. Happy Mother’s Day to you Kristy

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

