Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

Zack’s Post High-School Plans

on May 11, 2017

My baby is graduating high school!

Announce1

I can’t believe we are almost empty-nesters (sort of…Zack won’t actually be leaving home for a while).

Announce2

Carl and I have been talking with Zack regarding his future plans for the past few years. We are all realistic that Zack is not college-bound due to his learning difficulties and lack of motivation.

IMG_0003

We have been steering him in the direction of the military or technical school. We have specifically mentioned that electrician, plumber or auto mechanic would be good fields for him to consider.

IMG_0032

After Kelly recently mentioned that she took the Strong Interest Inventory as part of a graduate class, it reminded me that that test was how I became a Speech-Language Pathologist. I entered college as a pre-veterinary student. After my first biology class, I quickly realized that blood and guts were not my thing. Unsure what to do then, I went to the guidance office and was given the Strong Interest Inventory. When Speech-Language Pathology appeared at the top of the list (home economics teacher and nurse were up there as well), I took an introductory class and decided that it would be a good choice for me (and it was)!

IMG_0036

So I looked online and found the test and had Zack take it as well.

Zack

And boy did Carl and I hit it spot on…Military, Electrician and Auto Mechanic all appeared in Zack’s Top 10!

These careers did not….

Zack2

Ha! I get the sense that English/writing is not his strong suit. And having no filter and being very blunt doesn’t make for a great religious leader.

So Zack has decided to enroll in the local tech college for his electrical certification to pursue a career as an electrician. I hope that he finds much success in his chosen career path. We wish him all the best and are very proud of him for actually graduating!

I thank our friends, Michelle and John, for sharing their beautiful river-front property with me to take Zack’s senior photos while my mom and Sis were here.

IMG_6362

To see some more of Zack’s (unedited) photos, see below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses to “Zack’s Post High-School Plans

  1. granpa JOHN says:

    nice

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    Love all of Zack’s pictures and so happy I will be there to see “your baby” graduate. What a beautiful place to take pictures, grateful to your friends for letting us come with you while you took those shots. Zack will be successful in the trades, nothing wrong with that profession, he will make us proud!

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

