Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

Saturday in the Burg

on November 15, 2016

My friend, Dee, was disappointed that she couldn’t make the October craft night, where we made the wooden pumpkin set. I told her that I would give her a private class if she had us over and had her husband prep the wood pieces for us. So on Saturday, Carl and I drove out to the boonies (about 40 minutes from our house) to Middleburg, Florida (aka, “The Burg”).

img_3916

Dee did a fabulous job and her pumpkins turned out so cute. This is definitely my favorite craft night project to date.

img_3930

Since I had started preparations for a November craft night that didn’t quite pan out, I had the makings for 20 Thanksgiving cards which I brought with me as well. Dee had fun making a bunch of cards for her family. I’m not going to show a photo though since my relatives can expect to see the card very soon.

Since we were out in the boonies, Dee and Eddy decided it was only appropriate to take us shooting so we drove to their son’s property with their guns and Eddy set up a target for us.

img_3925

After giving us some basic safety instructions, Eddy let us both try shooting their pistols.

img_3944

 

It was scary but exhilarating at the same time! It is amazing the amount of power in that little pistol and I can’t imagine being hit by the force of that bullet. I actually did not do too bad for my first time shooting ever…all my bullets hit the target (shown by the circled bullet holes).

the-burg-5

I know just what to get Carl for Christmas now.

the-burg-10

This was my best Charlie’s Angels pose…I look like a maniacal dork!

img_3920

After our shooting adventure, we returned to Dee and Eddy’s house for a fabulous dinner of lamb chops, asparagus and salad.

img_3931

Since Dee and Eddy are starting a low-carb diet, we spent a lot of time coaching them on what to eat and sharing the tips that we’ve learned along the way. We wish them much success on their low-carb journey!

Finally, we ended the night with a few rounds of Dominoes (for which I failed to get a photo). It was a super fun day and evening with our good friends and we are so happy to have them in our lives. We look forward to doing it again soon!

the-burg-1

Thanks Dee and Eddy for a great day!

 

 

 

4 responses to “Saturday in the Burg

  1. Les says:

    How fun!!

    Like

  2. grandpa john says:

    nice

    Like

  3. Mom says:

    Just to be clear, I HATE GUNS, but it looks like you had a good time. I just hope not to great of a time with the guns. Glad you were able to enjoy time with friends and make beautiful crafts.

    Like

  4. Sue Miklas says:

    Another adventurous day in Florida….You had a good life in MN but I think life in Florida tips the scale. You have been able to check off lots on your “to do list” Keep on learning & growing!

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

