My Kind of Town

My Aunt Sandra, the one that has a house in Tucson, has always spent her summers in Chicago to escape the Arizona heat. However, traveling back and forth is getting more difficult so she decided to sell her condo in Chicago. A few weeks ago, she called to tell me it had sold, with a September closing and asked me if I would come and help her sell her furniture, sort through closets and cabinets and help her pack…and she would pay for my airfare. Sure thing, Auntie!

Aunt Sandra arranged for my dad to pick me up from the airport and drive me to her condo. But first we stopped at Portillo’s for Italian beef sandwiches (minus the bun because I have willpower…that plus the fact I ordered onion rings but don’t tell Carl).

I arrived downtown and made it to the 49th floor, where I was greeted by this view…

I spent the first evening taking photos of all of Aunt Sandra’s furniture and listing it on Craigslist. Hopefully we get buyers for it all quickly!

The next morning, I decided to take a quick walk along Lake Michigan. 


As I crossed the Chicago River, I captured this beautiful view from ground level this time.

So cool! When I saw the metal archways of Millenium Park Ampitheater in the distance, I knew I had to make my way to the iconic bean sculpture.

Can you see me right in the middle of the bean?

After walking back towards Aunt Sandy’s area, I went to the hardware store to pick up some boxes to begin our packing. What do you do in downtown Chicago without a vehicle…you walk four blocks carrying a stack of boxes on your head while wearing a roll of tape as a bracelet. So cute!

After spending the afternoon packing up closets, we were rewarded by a lovely dinner at a friend’s house.

Me; hostess, Mary; Aunt Sandra; Mary’s friend, Jane; Sandra’ s friend, Terry


Aunt Sandy and Terry have been friends since before I was born and all of our families used to take vacations to the dude ranch or ski trips together when I was young. At one point, I was engaged to Terry’s son, Mark, with a little plastic ring that he gave me on the ski slope. Of course, we were only about 10 years old so it didn’t last. It was nice to see Terry after all these years.

It’s been a productive trip so far. More to come.

4 thoughts on “My Kind of Town

  1. Groovy! I hear you have accomplished a lot since you got there. I told her not to worry. We are so lucky to have you in our family because are the most organized person I know. The right person to get the job done. The world needs more people like you. Someone that knows how to get things done. Bravo!

    Like

  2. There is definitely no place like downtown Chicago…..Sandra knew exactly who to call to “get er done”……Kristy to the rescue. Great job by taking the stress out of the move for your Aunt. Enjoy the rest of your visit with your Mom & family!

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

