Wasting Away – Update

Back in December, I shared how Carl and I had adopted a LCHF (low-carb, high-fat) lifestyle. At that point, I had lost 10 pounds, 3 inches from my waist and 2 inches from my hips. I said that “my goal by next summer is to lose at least another 20 pounds or as much as it takes to feel good about wearing a bathing  suit:).”

I feel like I should have a sexy shot of me in my bathing suit right here. But, no.  Instead, I’ll just share that YES, I achieved my goal! 

In fact, these are my stats:

  • 30 pounds lost
  • down two pant sizes
  • 5 inches lost in waist
  • 4 inches lost in hips
  • 3 inches lost in each thigh

In addition, although he was just following LCHF to support me, Carl lost 20 pounds that he didn’t really need to lose and does not have a single ounce of body fat on him (I wish I could say the same but I still have some excess weight in my butt and thighs that I’d love to get rid of). He looks amazing! I am jealous.

I have maintained my stats for the past 3-4 months without difficulty, without calorie (or any other type) counting or measuring, without hunger and without any structured exercise. This was all by keeping my daily carb count under 20-25 grams by eliminating grains (bread and pasta) and sugar.

Carl and I feel great. We eat a much healthier and varied diet of meat and natural, fresh vegetables, many of which we never tried before. We are now big fans of broccoli and brussel sprouts. Salad is our best friend.  We eat zucchini noodles and spaghetti squash instead of pasta. We use lettuce wraps instead of bread or taco shells. We have light and creamy, cheesy smashed cauliflower instead of mashed potatoes. So many good alternatives. YUM!

We have no plans on changing our eating habits and look at this as a permanent lifestyle. The biggest obstacle is eating out. Fast food is not carb friendly. It is hard to find quick and easy meals on the go. But we’ve got a few reliable favorites…Salad bowls at Chipotle and Chinese take-out once again now that we’ve found carb-friendly entrees (beef and broccoli, chicken and vegetables). But I’ll be honest, there are some foods I miss. I miss take-out pizza.  I miss ice cream in the summer. I miss fruit…we will have small quantities of berries but avoid most other fruits. I miss chocolate. I have begun to have a few small pieces every once in a while but nothing like my daily habit that I had before.

One amazing, unexpected benefit of our new lifestyle is my chronic shoulder pain has been eliminated! For two years, I was unable to fully extend my left arm or reach behind me without extreme pain. I couldn’t sleep on my left side for over two years. Several years ago I saw an orthopedic doctor who diagnosed “tendinitis due to age” and gave me a cortisone shot and prescribed physical therapy which I completed with fair results (but the pain came back as soon as I stopped the exercises). Now that pain is completely gone. I have full mobility of my left arm and no more pain! Hallelujah!

I am very thankful for a supportive husband who was willing to adopt these changes with me and for our mature and developing palates. I am very happy with our results. Yay for us!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Wasting Away – Update

  1. Awesomeness!!! Never know you had the pain everyday. Glad this lifestyle has helped. I am on my way too. Not at my goal yet but I will get there. Looking forward to getting more ideas from you next week.

    Like

  2. Congrats…keeping this lifestyle for the past year…loads of will power! We could all use some of that. Guess we should all get on “the bandwagon” & start a more healthy way of life. You & Carl are the models we should follow. You both look fantastic. So happy your shoulder etc. is so much better…says a whole lot for what you are consuming! Can hardly wait to see you both!

    Like

  3. I can attest that you look fantastic!! The meals you cooked were delicious and if I only cooked for myself I would try this. Unfortunately the Healthy Choice and Lean Cuisines I eat have too many carbs for this way of eating. Congratulations on a job well done!!

    Like

  4. And you 2 who hardly needed it! My I share this? Although you really aren’t identifiable I can change the names. Congratulations you two, you’re great! 😘

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

