Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

Grand Canyon – Day One

on May 2, 2016

Last Wednesday was our last morning all together. After breakfast, Carl and I loaded up Anthony’s truck, bought a tarp and straps to secure it for the long haul home and said goodbye to Anthony and Gab, who began their three day drive to Jacksonville.

Then the rest of us made the 1-1/2 hour drive up to Grand Canyon. After grabbing some lunch, we headed for a hike down the canyon.


The views were spectacular.


We easily made it three miles down to the second rest stop in about an hour and a half.


However, then we had to get back up to the top. That was *NOT* fun.

It took almost three hours and 63 breaks to get back up.

It gave me new appreciation for people who hike the 10-miles all the way up from the bottom, including my in laws who did it twice in their 40s! I always thought I wanted to do that but not anymore. I’ll walk down the canyon anytime. But if I do, I’m not coming back up. I’m pretty sure Kelly agreed with me too.

After our hard work, we rewarded ourselves with a nice dinner at the Bright Angel Lodge and a round of Phase 10. It was a successful but exhausting day.

2 responses to “Grand Canyon – Day One

  1. granpa JOHN says:

    nice

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    You sure did a lot of hiking during this trip. I give you credit, I don’t think I could have kept up with you. The views are beautiful and certainly it is a once in a lifetime experience, although Sue and Karl did it twice. Glad you are home and hope you get some rest before we get there.

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

