Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

Wasting Away

on December 1, 2015

Now that we are fully in holiday season and the eating frenzy has begun, I decided it was time to confess that Carl and I (well, more me but Carl is graciously going along for moral support) are trying to slim down. I have gradually put on weight in my adult years but it seems that the older I get, the quicker the weight is gaining on me. Since we live in the land of sunshine and bathing suits, I have reached my breaking point. I want to feel comfortable in a bathing suit and shorts once again.

So last month, we adopted a Low Carb, High Fat lifestyle. And in the last month, I have dropped 10 pounds just like that, along with 3 inches in my waist and 2 inches in my hips! Granted the first 5 pounds in water gain were lost in just the first week and I have continued to lose about a pound a week since then. My goal by next summer is to lose at least another 20 pounds or as much as it takes to feel good about wearing a bathing  suit :).

Since there are many great websites already out there with information on LCHF (my favorite is this link), I won’t go into it all here. But basically, we don’t eat any grains (i.e., bread, pasta) or sugar (i.e. anything sweet, including fruit). We do eat lots of eggs, meat, cheese, nuts, vegetables and healthy fats (butter, coconut oil). What I love about LCHF is that you don’t have to count calories and you are encouraged to eat when hungry. It helps to think of it as a change in lifestyle instead of a diet.

I am finding good alternatives to things that we enjoy. For example, zucchini noodles instead of pasta, smashed cauliflower (smothered in butter, heavy cream and cheese) instead of potatoes and low carb bread for hamburgers. It’s been fun to experiment and try new things.

Just wanted to put it out here in the open to help hold me accountable…I’ve said it publicly so now there’s no turning back!

 

 

 

8 responses to “Wasting Away

  1. granpa JOHN says:

    nice

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    Ten pounds in one month is great! I look forward to losing one pound the week I am there? 🙂

    Like

  3. I plan on gaining about five. I am sure I will have more fun….😆

    Like

  4. Aunt Gale says:

    So isn’t this the same as Atkins? Can you drink liquor?
    What kind?

    Like

    • Kristy says:

      Yes, Atkins is low carb. We are staying in the first phases though and keeping carbs under 20 grams. YES! We can drink. Hard liquor does not have carbs. You just have to watch what you mix it with. I currently drink vodka with fizzy flavored sparkling water (no calorie).

      Like

  5. Aunt Gale says:

    What do you eat for breakfast?

    Like

    • Kristy says:

      Breakfast is the easiest…2-3 scrambled eggs with bacon/sausage and cheese mixed in.
      Or I just drink “Bulletproof tea” which is tea blended with 1 TB coconut oil, 1 TB butter and 1 TB heavy cream to get a good dose of healthy fats to start the day. If I drink that, I’m not hungry until around 1pm.

      Like

  6. Sue says:

    Good for you…I know you have loads of self control & you will definitely shed the 20 lbs by next summer……look forward being in the presence of the “New You!”

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

