Jaxty's Place

My place to ramble about my family, my crafts, my travels and life.

Girl’s Night Out

on October 19, 2015

On my previous blog, I shared how I was a contractor for a company as a secret diner/shopper. I have enjoyed over $1,000 worth of free food over the past year at many places that I would not typically dine since Carl and I are too frugal to spend $100 on a single meal. I was excited a few weeks ago to see an assignment pop up for a local painting class. If you are not familiar with these new guided painting places, they say something like this:

Invite your friends, sip your favorite beverage and enjoy step-by-step instruction with our experienced and enthusiastic local artists. You’ll leave with a one-of-a-kind creation and a new found talent you’ll want to explore.

The assignment was for me and a friend to attend a $35/each class for free and then write a detailed review. So I invited my neighbor, Susan to attend with me.

The instructor stands on the stage with a sample of the finished product on one side and a blank canvas on the other. She guides the participants step-by-step in creating their own identical masterpiece. You are allowed to bring your own snacks and beverages (including alcoholic). At the end of the evening, you have a painting worthy of framing!

Painting with a Twist (3)

It was a really fun assignment and something that I’ve always wanted to do since seeing many friends post about such places on Facebook.

Painting with a Twist (2)

This was definitely one of my favorite “secret assignments” to date. I am glad that Susan and I had the opportunity to hang out and get creative. Good times!

 

3 responses to “Girl’s Night Out

  1. Sandra says:

    Looked like fun and I like your creation.

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    Both of you gals are very talented….very impressive. All that fun for FREE!

    Like

Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Got something to say?

